try this….Fisher Cooking Camp- New England Clam Boil

The New England Clam Boil

My son Fisher will be a senior in high school this fall. This means he needs to make some decisions on what he will study in college  (he abhors making decisions). He has a moderate interest in cooking. He has been learning to cook in school and seems to enjoy it. I have been in the restaurant industry for most of my life. I’ve been to culinary school. I’ve owned, managed, cooked, served, and cleaned up… It can be a tough and demanding career choice.

This summer I’ve decided to have him learn to cook something new every day (or as often as is possible). I’ve dubbed this Fisher Cooking Camp. Here is my plan, by the end of the summer he will either decide he loves to cook and may want to pursue this further or I will have beaten it out of him.

…..and maybe my readers will collect some recipes in the process.

Serves 6 or  in our case 4 hungry people

  • 4 lbs fresh steamer clams
  • 12 small potatoes, washed
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 lbs  chouriço sausage -Portuguese chouriço is made with pork, fat, wine, paprika and salt. It is then stuffed into natural or artificial casings and slowly dried over smoke )
  • 2 (12 ounce) bottles beer
  • water
  • salt and pepper
  • red pepper flakes (optional)
  • melted butter, for dipping
  • corn on the cob

Directions:

  1. Wash clams. You may also be able to buy them already cleaned. Cut the  chouriço into 8- 10 pieces
  2. In a large pot add the potatoes first, then the onion and  chouriço.
  3. Add the 2 bottles of beer and then enough water to cover the  chouriço. Add a generous bit of salt and pepper and then a pinch of pepper flakes if you want some extra heat. Cover and bring the pot to a boil. Cook for about 20 minutes until the potatoes are almost tender.
  4. Add  corn and then clams continue to boil for another 10 to 15 minutes or until the clams have popped open.
  5. Serve with a small bowl of melted butter and another small bowl of the broth for dipping. Eat by pulling the seafood out of the shell- pull off the black skin off the neck of steamers, then dip into the broth to rinse any extra sand and then into the butter. Yum!
    Serve with crust bread and napkins -it can be messy!

My friend Catherine and my husband enjoying” Fisher cooking camp” clam boil

9 thoughts on “try this….Fisher Cooking Camp- New England Clam Boil

  1. Yum! I must try this recipe. The Thomas/Hellquist/Zuerner/Platts brought steamers to our place in Charlestown a few years back. Believe it or not, I had never had them before. I couldn’t believe what I was missing. I went out and bought myself a gigantic black speckled steamer pot at Benny’s, which I’ve shamefully used too few times. But now I am inspired by your recipe to use it again. (It lives in Charlestown, close to where steamers are freshest). I credit this regional culinary ignorance to my parents being from Philadelphia. We never did the whole New England seafood thing, even though we moved to Newport when I was a kid. My mom stuck to more traditional fish fillets when at Anthony’s shopping for a special dinner. I sure loved some shake ‘n bake flounder with lemon!

Leave a Reply

