walk here… Sachuest Point National Wildlife Refuge

 Sachuest Point National Wildlife Refuge

   It seems every year I make an ambitious plan to walk a new trail each week. It never happens.   I have even purchased books in regards to this topic to help motivate me . (Walks and Rambles in Rhode Island40 Trails for Birders and Nature Lovers by Ken Weber is a good one).  I am hoping that if I include a recurring post in my blog called  “walk here…”  it will hold me accountable to do just that.

 In general I prefer strolling around a bustling town. Stopping at my favorite shops or cafes along the way but when walking with my husband he prefers walking closer to nature. Something a bit more zen (or militant, depending on your point of view). When our boys were younger he would drag us all to 2nd beach in the dead winter where no fools wanted to be. We would walk, mostly in silence, until our noses, fingers and toes froze. At this time of year,  just before the full onslaught of the summer, there is still a peacefulness to another of his favorite spots, Sachuest Point in Middletown, RI.

Sachuest Point is a beautiful 242 acre peninsula between the Sakonnet River and RI sound that has more than 2.5 miles of easy, mostly fine-gravel paved walking  trails. The trails loop around the rocky shore line and every vista looks like a postcard. The trails are open to the public from sunrise to sunset.

The views inspire. Birders, fishermen, day trippers and nature lovers this is the spot.

It is one of those places that make me say to myself “I can’t believe I get to live here.”

2 thoughts on “walk here… Sachuest Point National Wildlife Refuge

  1. People who live near their personal utopia are fortunate, indeed. My and I human daily stroll to the dock behind the house jump in the boat and cruise the tropical bays and mangroves around our house. That’s his Utopia! I know I stay close to mine – the refrigerator.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

