Hello all,

Well this certainly feels very much like putting a message in a bottle and throwing it into the ocean.

So here goes, my thoughts…

Having the ability to do things that matter.

Waiting for a time when we get to a place in our lives where we can do the things that matter to us.

Having the time to figure out what it is that does
matter to us.

Recently I have had a bit of time to ponder these thoughts. One day when reading I came across a word unknown by me, Otium. When I looked up the meaning it was an aha moment, a revelation. This word encompasses so much of what matters in life.
Otium- the pursuit of leisure activities…. eating, playing, travel, resting, contemplation, learning.

I hope the otiumlimited blog will become an ode to leisure activities, a journal, a photo log, a space to share, create and discover. But let’s be realistic, leisure time can be elusive. In the title to the blog I have included the word limited due to constraints we all have in our lives… health issues, time, finances and so on. I may never be fit enough to climb Mount Kilimanjaro, have enough free time to spend a month living in a Fiji, or even be able to afford to have dinner at per se. But I can still walk the trail at Sachuest,

have a holiday in Savannah,

and dine at buvette in NYC.

So even if otium is limited there is still so many possibilities. I plan to try a few.

Thanks for reading and I hope you will follow my posts. LJ

3 thoughts on “Hello all,

  1. I will tell you that if you wait for “the extra time” to stop and enjoy life, it may never happen. I know it sounds easier than it is but you really have to TAKE the time to enjoy life once in a while. This means making the time for yourself as important as work. You can’t put a dollar value on time spent enjoying yourself.

Leave a Reply

